With a centralized location on the Congaree River, a fort was established in the early 1700s. A ferry system was created by the colonial government in 1754 in order to connect local settlements. Named after Christopher Columbus (beating out a suggested name of Washington), the city of Columbia was founded in 1786, created by legislation by the General Assembly. In 1790, the capital of South Carolina was moved from Charleston to Columbia. In 1806 Columbia became the second planned capital in America, built on 400 blocks in a two-mile square area along the river; parcels were sold to investors and new residents. In 1860, South Carolina seceded from the Union. During the Civil War in 1865 half the city was burned by Union leader Major General Sherman. Many of its historic buildings and plantation homes were preserved and are now open to visitors. Its widest streets were named after Revolutionary and Civil War military leaders. In 1868 South Carolina was readmitted to the Union. In 1917 Fort Jackson was established as the U.S. Army training facility. In 2003, Congaree Swamp National Monument was designated South Carolina's first National Park and was renamed as Congaree National Park.With an economic boom, the city’s population grew. Today, it still attracts thousands of new residents, along with visitors who discover its natural beauty and cultural attractions.

This information from HelloCola.com website.